Mark Albiston and Louise Sutherland earn another award — 23.03.11

'The Six Dollar Fifty Man', directed by Mark Albiston and Louise Sutherland, has won the Heart of Gold International Film Festival's Best Short Film Award.

Heart of Gold International Film Festival - Australia

THE story of an eight year old boy forced to emerge from his make-believe world after being bullied, received the top gong at the Heart of Gold International Film Festival's Gala Awards Party on Saturday night.

The Six Dollar Fifty Man, a New Zealand film directed by Mark Albiston and Louise Sutherland won $5000 presented by major sponsor Cos Schuh of Schuh and Company Chartered Accountants, and an annual subscription to Film Ink Magazine.

Festival director Malcolm Blaylock said it was a difficult and rewarding task naming the 2011 award winners.

"There were so many good films and it could have been one of many," Mr Blaylock said.

"These films were inspirational, thought-provoking and were of exceptional technical quality," he said.

"The audience feedback has been overwhelmingly positive. I know that the judges struggled with their decisions as there were more worthy films than awards."

More than 200 short films from around Australia and the world were accepted into this year's festival, vying for 10 awards.

Saturday evening saw many film makers in attendance, alongside members of the jury, special film industry guests, sponsors and volunteers, as well as film buffs from Gympie, the Sunshine Coast and Brisbane.

Award winners

Best Short Film ($5000 cash prize sponsored by Schuh & Co): The Six Dollar Fifty Man, directed by Mark Albiston and Louis Sutherland (New Zealand);

Best Australian Film: The Love Song of Iskra Prufrock, directed by Lucy Gaffy (Australia);

Best Queensland Film: The Ration Shed, directed and produced by Robyn Hofmeyr (Australia);

Best Student Film: God of Love, directed and written by Luke Matheny (USA);

Best Narrative: Na Wewe (You too), directed and produced by Ivan Goldschmidt (Burundi & Belgium);

Best Comedy: The Little Nazi (Der Kleine Nazi), directed by Petra Lüschow (Germany);

Best Animation: Mobile, directed by Verena Fels (Germany);

Special Jury Mention: The Little Boy and the Beast (Der Kleine und das Biest), directed by Uwe Heidschötter, Johannes Weiland (Germany);

Best Documentary: Primo Bacio, directed, produced and written by Sarah Vassilas (Australia);

Screener's Award for Most Inspiring Film: El Andalón - Portrait of a Maverick Humanitarian, directed by Consuelo Alba (USA);

Mayor's Award: Tickets, directed by Edward Bell (Australia);