Standing Ovation at the Arts Awards — 07.11.13

The evening of the 2013 Macquarie Private Wealth New Zealand Arts Awards

The 2013 Macquarie Private Wealth New Zealand Arts Awards opened with a performance by Laureate receipient and tenor Simon O'Neill. Simon was joined by surprise guests, Auckland Choral for Puccini's Nessum Dorma. The performance had the audience on their feet and was a great way to kick off the Awards.

14 Awards were presented on the evening.  Also included were performances by Laureate Don McGlashan with 2013 New Generation Award recipient and Sean Donnelly.   Simon O'Neill delighted guests with two extra songs after dinner. This year the event was presented in three stages. A welcome glass of wine, while successfully Boosted project, Modern Maori Quartet performed to guests on their arrival, was followed by the ceremony in theatre style and then off to a third area of Auckland Waterfront's Shed 10 for dinner.

Recipients of awards spoke beautifully with highlights including film- maker and Laureate Jane Campion commenting that this award reaffirmed her connection with New Zealand. "We kiwis aren't a bad lot you know". Guests were also pleased to hear that Photographer and Laureate Laurence Aberhardt will be able to use his award money to help archive his extensive photograph collection.

The Arts Foundation would sincerely like to thank Maquarie Private Wealth New Zealand, all of its sponsors and supporters for making the awards possible. The Foundation would also like to thank the audience, it was a full house again this year with many committed arts supporters and patrons in attendance.

Congratulations once again to all 2013 Arts Awards recipients.

Lloyd Williams (Governor) Rose Lardelli, Derek Lardelli (Trustee/Laureate)

Mark Adams received a donation from the Todd Family

The Modern Maori Quartet perform as guests arrive

John Todd - accepts the Award for patronage on behalf of the Todd family

Simon O'Neill (Laureate) performs with the Auckland Choir

Ann Mallinson announces the Mallinson Rendel Award recipient

Gavin Bishop - 2013 Mallinson Rendel Illustrators Award recipient

Jono Rotman - proud recipient of the Marti Friedlander Photographic Award

SJD and Don McGlashan perform

Mark Todd and Philippa, Lady Tait

Denis O'Conner and Tim Gruchy

Kushana Bush receives her New Generation Award from Malcolm Brow