We write
great emails.

If you’d like to stay in the loop with the arts and creativity in Aotearoa, get ‘em in your inbox.

If you’d like to join a movement of people backing the arts and creativity.

The Arts Foundation

A Moment in Time He Momo

2020 was a one-of-a-kind year. Extraordinary things happened – things that will be remembered for belonging to this particular moment; for capturing our hearts and minds at a specific juncture of our shared history.

When our independent selection panel met in June 2021 to select eight Arts Foundation Te Tumu Toi Laureates, one name kept coming up. However, the person in question didn’t fit the traditional criteria for Laureate selection. It fanned a flame that had been quietly burning within The Arts Foundation Te Tumu Toi whānau for some time now – the need to recognise influence and impact that belongs to particular time in New Zealand’s arts journey.

Enter: The Moment In Time Award He Momo. Awarded to a change-maker who has had a significant impact on our arts and cultural landscape, in that year (or 12 months before it), all thanks to the radical generosity of Bruce and Tina Qin.

The honour – which will include a $25,000 gift – will only be awarded in a year when such an individual or collective have had significant impact and moved the needle on New Zealand’s arts landscape – be it fuelling our identity, wellbeing or culture, here or further afield. The recipient doesn’t have to be artist themselves, just someone who’s mahi impacts the arts. The award won’t be gifted regularly; just when the moment truly calls for it.

Ngā mihi nui to Bruce and Tina Qin for making this award possible – and congratulations to our inaugural Moment in Time Award He Momo recipient, Nigel Borell.

A Moment in Time Recipients