Westpac New Zealand Arts Awards - 2015 recipients announced! — 28.10.15

The Arts Foundation of New Zealand has recognised 10 artists at the Westpac New Zealand Arts Awards with a total of $360,000 in awards announced at a ceremony at the Mercury Theatre in Auckland tonight (WED 28 OCTOBER 2015).

Tonight’s awards brings the total amount granted to artists, since the inception of the Arts Foundation in 2000, to more than $5million. Arts Foundation Executive Director, Simon Bowden says this is a significant milestone.

“The Arts Foundation was founded with a grant of $5million from the Lottery Grants Board. The initial grant is still invested, and total equity now sits at $6.4million.”

During the past year, the Arts Foundation received formal notice of a promised legacy estimated to be $10million, and another of $500,000. This brings total legacies notified to the Arts Foundation to just over $30million.

Artist awards are made possible by Patrons of the Arts Foundation with recipients selected by an independent panel each year. Artists do not apply for Arts Foundation Awards and recipients are informed that they have been selected in a phone call that comes completely out of the blue.

The 2015 Awards were announced for the first time at the Westpac New Zealand Arts Awards tonight with newly awarded Laureate, Delaney Davidson, setting the tone for celebration with a rocking rendition of his song, So Long.

2015 Laureate Award recipients including a cash donation of $50,000 are:

About the Laureate Award: The Arts Foundation Laureate Award is an investment in excellence across a range of art forms for an artist with prominence and outstanding potential for future growth. Their work is rich but their richest work still lies ahead of them. The Award recognises a moment in the artists' career that will allow them to have their next great success.
The Laureate Awards are presented to five artists annually at the Westpac New Zealand Arts Awards. Each recipient receives $50,000 in recognition of their achievement and as a challenge for them to continue working at high levels. 
The Laureate Awards are one of New Zealand's largest cash awards, and the only private award covering all art forms.  Established in 2000, the Laureate Awards donation can be used by the artist in any way they choose.  The impact on artists has been life-changing.  Each artist also receives a Terry Stringer designed bronze statuette.

2015 New Generation Award recipients including a cash donation of $25,000 are:

About the New Generation Award: New Generation artists are driven by a boundless sense of optimism and approach every day like it is their creation. They have usually taken on too much and get through by sheer determination. This is why the New Generation Award could not come at a better time. It is life changing, affirming and a great investment in our future.
2015 Marti Friedlander Photographic Award recipient including a cash donation of $25,000 is:

About the Marti Friedlander Photographic Award: Supported by the Arts Foundation, the Marti Friedlander Photographic Award was launched in 2007.  The Award is presented every two years to an established photographer with a record of excellence and potential to continue working at high levels. The Award includes a $25,000 donation for the photographer to help further their career. 

2015 Mallinson Rendel Award recipient including a cash donation of $10,000 is:

About the Mallinson Rendel Award: Following the sale of Mallinson Rendel Independent Book Publishing Company, Ann Mallinson wanted to continue to support and celebrate the skill of New Zealand’s top picture book illustrators, and so, in 2011, thanks to a generous donation, the Mallinson Rendel Illustrators Award was established. On alternate years, a voluntary panel convene to select an illustrator whose work is published and is of a very high standard. David Elliot was the first to receive the non-strings attached award, followed by Gavin Bishop in 2013. Christchurch based artist Jenny Cooper is this year’s Mallinson Rendel Illustrators Award recipient.