NZ Scriptwriters Awards — 10.11.10

Three nominees for Best Feature Film Script at the NZ Scriptwriters Awards are Arts Foundation Award recipients: Laureates Gaylene Preston ‘Home By Christmas' and Briar Grace-Smith ‘The Strength of Water', and Taika Waititi ‘Boy'.

The ceremony, to be held tonight (Wednesday 10, November)  put on by the New Zealand Writers Guild, will be the first of its kind in this country, dedicated purely to the writers behind our favourite local TV shows, films and theatre shows.

"The whole awards come from us wanting to celebrate the achievements of our members, and to create a strong profile for writers in New Zealand," says NZWG Executive Director Steven Gannaway.

The awards are part of a push by the NZWG to promote and gain recognition for the people behind the scenes who create these stories for us to watch on our screens and in theatres.

"One of the key things we're looking to improve for writers is not only the rates they get paid, but their ability to retain control of their material, at least in the early stages of development," said Gannaway.

Both local and international members of the industry have made up the judging panel for the awards.

the full list of nominees:

Best Feature Film Script

Gaylene Preston Home By Christmas
Mike Riddell The Insatiable Moon
Briar Grace-Smith The Strength of Water
Taika Waititi Boy 

Best Short Film Script: 

Sam Peacocke Manurewa
James Blick Roof Rattling
Paul Stanley Ward Choice Night

Best Play: 

Pip Hall The 53rd Victim
Natalie Medlock and Dan Musgrove Christ Almighty!
Fiona Samuel Ghost Train

Best TV Comedy Script: 

Kate McDermott Go Girls (Series 2, Episode 9)
Gerard Johnstone The Jaquie Brown Diaries (Episode 4)

Best TV Drama Script: 

Rachel Lang Outrageous Fortune (Series 5, episode 17)
James Griffin Outrageous Fortune (Series 5, Episode 16)
Donna Malane and Paula Boock Bloodlines

New Writer Award: 

Sam Peacocke Manurewa
Natalie Medlock and Dan Musgrove Christ Almighty!
Mike Riddell The Insatiable Moon

Industry Mentorship Award: 

Rachel Lang
Roger Horrocks
Glenis Giles

Source: Herald