The Arts Foundation announce the recipients of the 2017 New Zealand Arts Awards

Eleven extraordinary New Zealand artists have been chosen as the 2017 recipients of the coveted Laureate and New Generation Awards, Marti Friedlander Photographic Award, Mallinson Rendel Illustrators Award and the Katherine Mansfield Menton Fellowship. The recipients represent classical music, popular music, film, theatre, contemporary dance, poetry, photography and illustration. The recipients will be celebrated at the New Zealand Arts Awards, hosted by ASB at the ASB Waterfront Theatre on Monday 6 November. They will join a family of 191 artists who have received a total of over $6million from the Arts Foundation, thanks to the support of some of New Zealand’s most generous arts patrons.

For 17 years the Arts Foundation has provided New Zealand artists with no-strings attached monetary awards. Artists do not apply for the awards, instead they are selected by a panel independent of Arts Foundation staff and governance. They are called out of the blue with the life-changing news they have been selected. This year six panelists came together to discuss the work of New Zealand’s finest artists and had to make the extraordinarily tough decisions as to who should be the this year’s Laureate and New Generation Award recipients. The panellists were Gregory O’Brien (literature and visual arts), Sue Paterson (dance and multi-discplinary), Lynda Chanwai Earle (literature, performing arts), Rachel House (theatre, film, moving image), Brendan Smythe (music) and Nina Tonga (visual arts).

2017 Laureate Awards
Each Laureate Award includes a gift of $50,000
Niki Caro – Director, Filmmaker
Jemaine Clement – Actor, Writer, Comedian, Multi-Instrumentalist
Ross McCormack – Choreographer, Contemporary Dancer
Rob Ruha – Haka Soul Musician
Robin White – Painter, Print Maker
About the Laureate Award:
The Laureate Award is an investment in excellence across a range of art forms for an artist with prominence and outstanding potential for future growth. Each artist also receives a Terry Stringer designed bronze statuette.
2017 New Generation Awards
Each New Generation Award includes a gift of $25,000
Hera Lindsay Bird – Poet
Salina Fisher – Contemporary Classical Composer, Violinist
Tiffany Singh – Interdiscplinary Site Specific Installation Based Artist
About the Award:
New Generation artists have assured potential, their work is exciting and they show outstanding promise. Three Awards are presented annually and each artist receives a Christine Cathie designed glasswork in a different colour.
Mallinson Rendel Illustrators Award
This award includes a gift of $15,000
Donovan Bixley – Children’s Book Illustrator and Author
About the award:
The Award is presented every two years to a children's book illustrator with published work of a high standard and includes a no-strings cash gift of $15,000 and a certificate designed by Sarah Maxey.
Marti Friedlander Photographic Award
This award includes a gift of $25,000
Roberta Thornley – Photographer
About the award:
The Award is presented every two years to an established photographer with a record of excellence and potential to continue working at high levels.
Katherine Mansfield Menton Fellowship
This fellowship includes a sum of $35,000 to cover expenses during the time in Menton, France

Carl Nixon - Novelist, Short Story Writer and Playwright
Learn more about the recipients via their webpages linked to above. 

For any further information or comment please contact Profile and Engagement Manager at the Arts Foundation, Anna Edgington, 027 936 8571, anna@thearts.co.nz.
About the Arts Foundation
The Foundation was instigated in the late 90s by arts visionaries who wanted to build a philanthropic organisation to help support New Zealand's finest artists to create more extraordinary work. It was founded with a grant of $5million from the Lottery Grants Board, and continues to be invested, with a total equity of $8.2 million. The Foundation has several financial awards for artists and honours significant New Zealand Artists with Icon Awards.

Philanthropy is the Arts Foundation’s specialist knowledge. The Foundation makes it simple and rewarding to donate to the arts. Most of all, they ensure that giving is effective and that it reaches the right people.