All the artists we support have searching minds with a depth of knowledge and extraordinary ability to think innovatively. At the New Generation Award level we see another quality. These younger minds are driven by a boundless sense of optimism and approach every day like it is their creation. But they are young. They have usually taken on too much and get through by sheer determination. This is why the New Generation Award could not come at a better time. It is life changing, affirming and a great investment in our future.

The Arts Foundation of New Zealand New Generation Awards were established in 2006 with the support of Freemasons New Zealand.  The Awards are now funded by Arts Foundation Patrons. Three Awards are presented annually with each recipient receiving $25,000 to support them as artists and a Christine Cathie designed glasswork.

Christine Cathie's design is a simple form of a sweeping curve to convey an emerging artist's sense of spontaneous rhythm, flow and energy. Each artist gets a different colour - the sculpture is cast from Gaffer Glass which is a New Zealand made lead crystal, and glows with shifts in colour and light as the piece varies from thick to thin. 

The New Generation Awards are presented at the New Zealand Arts Awards. However, in 2010 the New Generation Awards were presented at a stand alone occasion to Mark Albiston, Eleanor Catton, Ngaahina Hohaia, Anna Leese, Kate Parker and Louis Sutherland.  On the same night, Seung Yul Oh was announced as the recipient of the Harriet Friedlander Residency in New York.  Below is a video from the night, with music by Laureate Don McGlashan from his album Marvellous Year.  Thanks to Anna Edgington for volunteerring her time to edit it for us.